Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.





Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Multi-Ability two ability penalty
techogre
Superhero
Posts: 38
Post Multi-Ability two ability penalty
on: May 19, 2017, 15:02

If using the second type of multi-ability (2 abilities usable) the -10 penalty is applied how? Is it reducing the net CP the base power is worth? Is it -10 to hit? Is it -10 to damage or effect?

For example, I have Power Blast (20-5=15CP), Reflection (20-5=15CP), and Repulsion Blast (20-5=15CP) all in a 2 usable ability Multi-Ability. The Power Blast at -10 could be: -10 to hit, 2d10-10 damage, or damage reduced to 2d6.

bkadams
Cosmic Superhero
Posts: 425
Post Re: Multi-Ability two ability penalty
on: May 20, 2017, 08:31

Quote from techogre on May 19, 2017, 15:02
If using the second type of multi-ability (2 abilities usable) the -10 penalty is applied how? Is it reducing the net CP the base power is worth? Is it -10 to hit? Is it -10 to damage or effect?

For example, I have Power Blast (20-5=15CP), Reflection (20-5=15CP), and Repulsion Blast (20-5=15CP) all in a 2 usable ability Multi-Ability. The Power Blast at -10 could be: -10 to hit, 2d10-10 damage, or damage reduced to 2d6.

Your 20 CP Power Blast (2d10) would be reduced to a 10 CP Power Blast (2d6) and your 20 CP Repulsion Blast (d8+2d10) would be reduced to a 10 CP Repulsion Blast (2d10).

Majestic
Cosmic Superhero
Posts: 3176
Post Re: Multi-Ability two ability penalty
on: May 21, 2017, 05:09

I'm glad this one got answered here, as I understood it to work quite differently. I thought it was saying that they just COST less (thus the Power Blast would still do the 2d10 damage, but would cost only 15 CP, and the Repulsion Blast (I think you got the values wrong on this one, Brian, as 20 CP is 2d8+d10 and 15 CP is 2d12) would be 2d8+d10, but cost 15 CP, and that you could only use 2 abilities (out of a group) at a time (in the same turn?)

I'll send a note to Jeff on this one, as I think it needs to be worded better. I see what you mean with your explanation above, but I don't see how the way it's currently worded actually says that. Maybe an example is needed in the rules?

And I don't see in your explanation where it defines what using one Ability "at a time" or two Abilities "at a time" means?

I was taking that to mean - as in my case of Majestic having Heightened Senses in his suit of Armor, where he had to switch between, say, his hearing Sounds, Ultrasonic, or his Sounds, Subsonic - that he couldn't do both at the same time, but that (for lack of a better description, had to 'toggle' between the two).

V&V GM and player since 1982 (my current campaign is 22 years old); also run West End Games d6 Star Wars monthly, as well as the occasional The One Ring and Marvel Heroic Roleplaying game

Paragon
Cosmic Superhero
Posts: 129
Post Re: Multi-Ability two ability penalty
on: May 21, 2017, 16:22

Yeah, that'd be very odd to figure with some flat-cost powers--super senses being the poster boy here.

Pages: [1]
Mingle Forum by cartpauj
Version: 1.0.33.3 ; Page loaded in: 0.099 seconds.