Ambidexterity states that a character with this ability can use other hands equally as well as their primary hand without suffering the penalty of off hand actions (see 3.0.2.3) This section specifically says -3 on any manual TASK they perform solely using their off hand.
Is an attack considered a task therefore giving a -3 penalty to all offhand attacks as well as task rolls?
Or no an attack is not a task but the offhand attack still gets the -3 penalty by virtue of it being considered an action ?
We are playing it with -3 to off hand attacks but some players are not so sure, so any feedback would be great.
And to add to this, can Ambidexterity be taken only once or multiple times (for multiple limbs)
An attack's roll to hit is a task check, and yes, the off-hand penalty applies to that.
From the Physical Ability A) Ambidexterity entry (page 59): "This Ability costs (2.5) CPs, (+2,.5) CPs to double the number of primary hands (which can be useful for characters with Extra Limbs)."
Hope that helps!
-Jeff
Just noticed something, as you said above ''An attack's roll to hit is a task check'' If this is true, would I get a +4 to hit if I have 20 cp's in Experience Levels +2 to hit and +2 to task. since an attacks roll to hit is a task?
Heh, nice try! No, you don't get it twice 😉
-Jeff
I'm a bit confused, to Wildshots point, if ''An attack's roll to hit is a task check'' then why is the definition of the Experience Levels ability say "+2 to hit and +2 to task."
Are "tasks" and "hits" considered the same thing?
I understand you don't get both bonus', but where I'm confused is on the difference, is an attack considered an action or a task? Is there an actual definition or glossary available for the terminology?
I acknowledge that it's unclear. Think of it this way: attacks are tasks, but they're a special case with all kinds of additional rules involved, and so they're often spoken about separately.
I hope that helps.